Eliana: God has Responded

Our first child was born a few days ago. We have been praying for God’s blessing of a child for several years, and now he has responded and given us a beautiful little girl. After much thought and prayer, we decided to name her Eliana, which means the Lord has responded. We are calling her Ellie for short.

God has responded in Eliana’s birth as well. Ellie had been head down in the womb since about 7 months along; but when we went to our check-up for week 36, Ellie had flipped and turned breech (feet down). Now in Thailand, doctors won’t even try to flip a baby, so we looked up some noninvasive things to encourage her to flip. We found that even in the womb babies don’t like cold heads, so you should put an ice pack on the top of the uterus and talk, or play music, to the bottom of the belly. We tried this. Ellie moved a tiny bit, but wasn’t happy and went back breech as we went to bed.

She stayed breech the following day. That night, after a full day of organizing the nursery and shopping for household items and snacks for a planned trip to the beach, my sister and I met Andy at Our Home Chapel for a night session of a multiplying leaders seminar with Ralph Moore. Just when we got to Andy, my water broke (at 6:20pm). We went to a quiet and private place and called our doula, just a little bit panicked. At that moment, we had to assume that we were going to have an emergency C-section that night.

Andy went and called a taxi, I borrowed a towel and then we went to the hospital. On the way to the hospital, we prayed that Eliana would flip back to head down. Ellie was quite active as we bounced along the road. When we got to the hospital, we made a quick game plan for a C-section while we waited for our doctor to arrive.

At 7:45pm our doctor arrived and did a quick ultrasound to check where Ellie was positioned. He found that she had flipped again and was head down. With a sigh of relief from all of us, including the doctor, we went over to the labor and delivery room to check into the hospital. I wasn’t dilated at all but had started contractions, which were weak and about 5 minutes apart. The doctor decided that labor was weak and probably wouldn’t fully start until the morning. He sent me to a private hospital room to rest for the night and he went home to sleep.

After we got to the room, I sat down with Andy and made a list of what to pack for me and the baby. Our doula added the items that we almost forgot, like our passports. Kathy and Andy then left for our home while I tried to rest. When they returned at 11:30pm, contractions had gotten a little stronger but were still very manageable. I ate half a PB&J sandwich and then laid down for a nap. Everyone else laid down also. Not long after, Andy, Kathy, and our doula were sleeping but I couldn’t as contractions just kept coming. I labored peacefully by myself for the next few hours.

At 4:20am, I decided that contractions were pretty intense and we should go down to the labor and delivery room. I woke everyone up and they went to get a nurse and a wheelchair. When we got there I was almost fully dilated and they called the doctor. Just a short time later, Eliana Ann Opie was born at 5:12am.

God answered our prayers for a child and he continues to answer our prayers over her. She is perfect in every way and a beautiful gift from God.

17 thoughts on “Eliana: God has Responded

  1. A perfect gift from God, that is what Ellie is. God is so good, she is an amazing miracle. We are so excited to meet her and see her in person, although Skype is a wonderful invention, it’s not the same . Can’t wait to hold our newest granddaughter. Soon…… Xoxoxoxoxo Love, Nana (Kim /Mom)

    • Ellie is looking forward to your arrival as well…even if she does love hearing your voice through Skype, it’s not the same as in person…

  2. Absolutely love this! It has encouraged me and my desires for children. I am so happy that all went so well and that you are truly blessed. Your family is beautiful and all I see is love!

  3. Tina and Andy,
    I am overjoyed at the birth of beautiful little Eliana! I cannot believe she is finally here. I remember back in July when Tina and I were talking on my couch about having children. Only God knew in that moment that he was already blessing you. You both deserve all the love in the world. I love you and miss you both. Give Eliie a kiss from me. I cannot wait to meet her!

    Love,
    Danielle Porcho

    • When I think back, it is a little unbelievable! Ellie is kissed and can’t wait until she meets you this summer.

  4. What a beautiful gift from God. Thanks, Tina for sharing your story. May Ellie bring you both much joy and may she follow God all of the days of her life!

  5. I love the story–another miracle of God! Isn’t HE amazing? I love the photos, too. Thanks for sharing. Hugs and kisses to the new parents as well.

  6. We saw your beautiful pictures and enjoyed them all. Thank you for sharing we have thought about you often. Hannah

    Congragulations!!!!!She is sooooo beautiful!!! She is lucky to have such wonderful parents. Love the photos. Thank you for the update.
    Keep us posted,
    Bethany

  7. Dear Andy, Tina and Ellie,

    What wonderful news. I am so happy for you all. God is sooo good! God Bless You and Keep You, can’t wait to see the new addition.
    Love,
    Tana

  8. Pingback: What do you do when adoption is not an option? « Musings on Missions, Life, and God

  9. Wow, congratulations. My brother and his wife were very much longing for a child and with his wife’s medical condition a baby would have physically healed her. They also named her Elliana Anne, (spelled differently)

    • Congratulations to your brother and his wife.

      Sent from my iPad

      • Thank you, and I hope your little one has many many healthy happy years ahead of her. God will definitely take care of her, as He has already proven that!

  10. Dear Servant of God, I am absolutely happy to
    send you my heartfelt greetings. I feel as if my feet are not touching
    the ground because of what I have received from you and to crown it all
    the wonderful beautiful and uplifting conversion in the word of your
    website. I was so touched and I really embrace your life changing
    website I have read it and it has indeed convicted my heart and a burden has been laid in me until I have been forced through the grace of the
    Lord to write to you, thank and encourage you for what the Lord is using you for. I will never cease to pray for you and I wish you were here to help us grow to the stature of our Lord Jesus Christ.. Stir up the gift of God which is in you and we need you for eight days to teach the word of God. Set yourself apart for these eight days and nights and come ready to share with the saint of God. There will be preaching, teaching, and demonstration of the Holy Spirit and power.; please, We request you to bring for us arrival, r. Doors will open one hour prior to each service.
    Following the Monday-Saturday morning services, we will conduct Power Evangelism classes – teaching effective methods of reaching the harvest of God and doing soul wining. Please, if you are ready let us know when you are coming with your team our leaders invite you to teach them.We are on our
    knees praying for you so that you may assist us to know more about the
    riches of Christ in Heaven. You are needed brother. You really have what we need for our spiritual growth. Our congregation group here is very
    happy in the Lord through your teachings from the website that I usually use to teach them and that they desire more spiritual teachings from
    you please for we are called to open our arms to the world and bring the un churches to Christ, God is also calling us to grow in faith and grow in numbers as we serve all of God’s people in Jesus name.
    Peace and blessings. Yours Co-laborer in Christ, our church are young lack of need i think you now.i need help of players from you can make as to move one step to Christ,
    your co-re parer pastor from east Africa Kenya .

  11. Pingback: ASK THE BLIND PASTOR | Clinging To Hope

Leave a Reply

